moral dilema

09Apr08

this is going to need some backstory…

at work, they created a new position in our little business unit.  it’s a management position with a substantially larger income than the rest of us peeons.  i didn’t apply for it, but about 5 people in the group got interviews for it.

the job listing on our company website said it was open to full-time employees.

by the time the listing came down a few days later, it had been changed to include part-time employees.

as it turns out, a part-timer got the job.

a lot of people were upset.  about 4 people were really upset.  one, in fact, sent out e-mails bashing the management decision.  and yes, i agree it was unscrupulous to change a job posting part way through and it was a bad decision.  but i wasn’t about to spread hate and discontent.  i didn’t apply for the job because nothing about it interested me, including who go it.  but then again, i wasn’t a full-time employee turned down for a job and then said job gets handed to someone who wasn’t even allowed to run in this race in the first place.  so i see both sides of the story.

however, this is where it gets interesting.  my boss (who is an awesome lady and truly cares for the people that work for her.  i’ve known her for years) just happened to be at my desk talking to me when i got an e-mail from the hater in the group.  all my boss saw over my shoulder was who the e-mail was from, and the subject line which simply read “job.”

the next day my boss approached me and she seemed somewhat worried.  she asked me something “off the record.”  she admitted she noticed my e-mail the day before and flat out asked me what the e-mail had said.  i don’t think she was spying over my shoulder to see my e-mails, it was just in her line of sight and the animated alert caught her eye when i got the e-mail.

so i told my boss the truth.  she already knew what the e-mail was about b/c apparently i wasn’t the only one to get an e-mail of this sort.  and i told her all i wrote back to this person who was basing the decision to hire a part-timer was, “yeah…  nothing surprises me around here anymore.”

it’s vague, but it got the lady off my back while making it sound like i was on her side.

my boss seemed content and that was that, i thought.

but she asked me the next day if i still had the e-mail from the hater and if i would send it to my boss b/c she was “building a case against her.”

i had two options.  i was kind of on the spot so i did one of these two things.

a)  send my boss the e-mail and be a good little boy.

2)  lie and tell my boss i couldn’t find the e-mail like a good little co-worker.

i don’t want to reveal my decision just yet.

first, i want to know what you would do…

3 Responses to “moral dilema”

  1. 1 Dave

    I think I’d send my boss the e-mail. I don’t consider work e-mail private so if someone (especially a co-worker) sends something in an e-mail they should know that those above might see it.

    But I’m not sure what your relationship with “hater” is. If you’re good friends I can see how that would make the decision more difficult.

  2. 2 charliedean

    i think i’d start by talking to the HR department. (in this kind of situation, Toby is your friend, not your enemy.)

    before making a decision, I’d want to know if there is any precedent or rules governing this sort of thing…

    sorry, if it seems like a cop-out. i just assume that they’ve dealt with similar situations and would let me know where i stand.

  3. well, i already know what you did…and i think it was very wise. 🙂

    now enjoy this hilariousness…

    Michael: Oh, and another fun thing — We, at the end of the night, are going to give the check to an actual group of Boy Scouts. Right, Toby?

    Toby: Actually, I didn’t think it was appropriate to invite children, since it’s uh, you know, there’s gambling and alcohol, it’s in our dangerous warehouse, it’s a schoolnight, and you know, Hooter’s is catering, and is that- is that enough? Should I keep going?

    Michael: Why are you the way that you are? Honestly, every time I try to do something fun, or exciting, you make it… not that way. I hate… so much about the things that you choose to be.


Leave a Reply

